Coastal and Marine Geography Specialty Group (COMA) Business Meeting minutes AAG 2016 Annual Meeting San Francisco, April 1st, 2016

Minutes recorded by Brian Marks, COMA Secretary/Treasurer

Meeting brought to order at 7:18pm. 27 people present.

First item of business following welcome by COMA chair Dr. Harry Williams was the approval of the 2015 Business Meeting minutes. After a brief description of those minutes, a vote was taken (J. Rahn proposes, H. Williams seconds) and passed approving the 2015 minutes.

The chair gave his report on COMA's status and accomplishments in the past year. COMA has 289 members currently, up 7 from 282 last year. There were 133 postings on the AAG's email list for COMA in the past year and 148 Facebook posts to the COMA Facebook page. 17 sessions were sponsored by COMA at the 2016 AAG Annual Meeting, same as the previous year.

There was a question regarding the correct prize amount for Illustrated Paper Award winners. The amount was raised by \$50 in 2015, but we weren't sure at the time if the current total was \$150 or \$200. After investigation following the meeting, I confirmed the correct current amount is \$150.

One item of new business was brought up before the announcement of student paper awardees, to increase the Norb Psuty participation incentive from \$50 to \$100 for the three 2016 competitors. That item passed.

The COMA chair announced student competition winners for 2016.

Francisco Laso, M.S. student at UNC-Chapel Hill, won the 2016 Illustrated Paper Award for his paper "Improving Ecological Literacy in the Galapagos Islands through Outdoor Education." Mr. Laso, who was not present at the Business Meeting, will get \$150 as a prize. This year there were six competitors for the Illustrated Paper Award.

In the Norb Psuty Student Paper Merit Award competition, three students competed in 2016. There were two winners.

Ms. Laureline Gerard, M.S. student at the Universite de Cergy-Pontoise, France, received an Honorable Mention for her paper "The Assessment of the Hydromorphological Status of Coastal Water Bodies." She will receive \$100 as a participation incentive.

Gladys Valentin-Gonzalez, M.S. student at the University of New Mexico, won the best paper by a master's student for "GIS-based Sub-aerial Beach Inventory of Puerto Rico (2010)." She will get the \$100 incentive and a \$250 prize.

Donna Selch, PhD student at Florida Atlantic University, won best paper by a doctoral student for "Extracting Benthic Habitat from Shallow Water Hyperspectral Imagery Examining Reflectance Influences." She will get the same \$100 incentive and \$250 prize.

COMA Secretary/Treasurer Brian Marks gave a budget report. COMA had an account balance of \$2,513.64 on 2/29/16 with expected 2016 Annual Meeting expenses totaling \$1,100. The Specialty Group also paid \$99.99 for website maintenance and \$100 supporting the 2016 Annual Meeting Physical Geography symposium. From April 2015-February 2016, COMA earned \$782.00 in dues. COMA is therefore still running a deficit, about \$400-500 / year, at current spending and income levels.

This budget report was voted on and approved by the attendees.

Elections for COMA officers followed. The Chair and Vice-Chair's terms are expiring, as are the terms for two board members and the student member. The Secretary/Treasurer continues his current term.

Two board members were nominated – Dr. Brian Bossak, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Sciences at Florida Gulf Coast University and Dr. Phillip Schmutz, Assistant Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of West Florida. Both nominees were approved by the members of COMA in attendance.

One student in attendance, Katherine Seto of UC-Berkeley, nominated herself for the available student board member and was in turn approved for this position by the attendees.

For the Vice-Chair and Chair positions, after some brief discussion the current chair Harry Williams agreed to serve an additional year in that capacity and Dr. Heidi Lannon, outgoing board member, would step in temporarily for one year as Vice-Chair. This arrangement was agreed upon by the assembled Specialty Group members.

Regarding future field trips, a discussion found that the last time the AAG came to Boston (2008), there was a field trip to Cape Cod led by a certain professor at Boston University. Tours of the Boston Harbor islands, Cape Cod, or Woods Hole are possible.

A proposal was made by J. Rahn (seconded by D. Horn) to name the Student Illustrated Paper Merit Award the H. Jesse Walker Student Illustrated Paper Merit Award, in honor of Dr. Walker. This proposal passed.

The Business Meeting was adjourned at 7:55pm.